Back
Previous12Next
Peter & Jenny Quinton, UK

Peter & Jenny Quinton, UK

Jenny and I can't thank you enough for the fantastic experiences that you provided us with from the moment we touched down at Delhi Airport to the time that we took off for our flight home. We can honestly say that this was the best holiday we have ever had, you interpreted our requirements precisely and organised everything magnificently and without any hitches whatsoever. On top of that you organised wedding anniversary and birthday celebrations with personal gifts as surprises which blew us away.

May 2019

Mike & Gill King, UK

Mike & Gill King, UK

The whole holiday was an amazing adventure so difficult to highlight any one moment. However, on the first day in Brandavagh, 20 minutes into our first drive with no one else about, we saw a large male tiger emerge from the forest just next to us and slowly meander across our path! Next, in Pench we heard alarm calls and managed to track a leopard to near a waterhole. Again we were the only jeep and sat watching her for some 15 minutes before the others arrived when she then sauntered off! Finally, on our last drive before going to the airport, we saw a sloth bear with her cub on her back walking leisurely across the meadow at Satpura - a wonderful sight and great way to end the holiday. All the lodges appeared to employ staff from the local area. It was also apparent that they are involved in educating the villagers and young people on the environment and the benefits of conservation. The organisation and planning of the holiday was impeccable throughout. Saurabh was assiduous about checking that we had been met by our drivers and guides which was very reassuring. I would not hesitate to recommend them for any trip.

May 2019

Guy Peggram & Rachel Laurence, UK

Guy Peggram & Rachel Laurence, UK

The whole trip was fantastic from start to finish. All transfers went smoothly and all the guides at our various stops were waiting for us. We had an additional add on to Jaipur and Agra before going on to the national parks, which was a great start to the trip. All four parks delivered: had fantastic sightings, seeing tigers in all 4, as well as great leopard and sloth bear sightings (particularly in Satpura). Satpura was a lovely way to round off the trip, as the traffic there is much less hectic. 

March 2019

Matthew Wood, UK

Matthew Wood, UK

Seeing tigers. In particular saw tiger cub and tiger stalking deer. Loved the accommodation in Kanha. Really enjoyed the Indian food. Saurabh made this an amazing trip and fulfilled a dream of seeing tigers in the wild. His passion/ knowledge for wildlife is amazing and was on hand to give me camera tips to ensure I captured the memorable moments.

March 2019

Mike & Denise Brooks, UK

Mike & Denise Brooks, UK

The holiday was extremely well planned and varied. The naturalists were very knowledgable and easy to talk to with endless patience. All staff in the lodges made us feel very welcome and as if we were staying in their own home. The food was outstanding and the standard of accommodation first class. Saurabh accompanied us for the first part of our holiday and was great fun as well as being a knowledgable guide. When he left us he constantly made contact with the lodges to ensure that we were ok and that our transfers were on time and everything in order. He telephoned us at the end of our stay to see ask our opinion of how the rest of the holiday progressed and if we had any complaints or unresolved issues. He is constantly looking for ways to make improvements and maintain his high standards. The home stay was excellent and offered an opportunity to interact with village life on a personal level. Nothing was too much trouble. This was an amazing holiday and we would highly recommend it. Nothing can compete with local knowledge offered by local people.

Febuary 2019

Nancy Wisenfeld, USA

Nancy Wisenfeld, USA

The trip was very well organized. We stayed at very nice lodges with very good food. Saurabh, the owner/founder of the tour operator was our guide for the entire trip and he was wonderful. He is an expert wildlife guide and I think we saw more because of his personal involvement. Saurabh put our group trip together with only four people and it was perfect as we had personal attention but still had the fun of sharing the experience with others. I would strongly recommend this company if you want to see wildlife in India.

January 2019

David & Jackie Crawford, UK

David & Jackie Crawford, UK

You have made us memories we will look back at for years to come, your excellent choices of accommodation and parks show your true experience and knowledge of your lovely country. I could go on for hours about all the things we have seen and done…….and probably will in future emails.

I would welcome you and any of the lovely people we have met to come over to stay with us in our lovely country, and cannot thank you enough for welcoming us to yours.

December 2018

Craig & Denise Layten, USA

Craig & Denise Layten, USA

Our holiday was great! Saurabh was a wonderful guide who loves his country very much. He took very good care of us. He has great attention to detail and is very knowledgeable about the environments we visited. I would recommend Chinkara Journeys to anyone who wants to visit India.

April 2018

Claire & Manfred Spunt, Portugal

Claire & Manfred Spunt, Portugal

Absolutely wonderful. Congratulations to Saurabh and his team for a job well done. Also full marks for all the travel arrangements made. In actual fact punctuality of drivers was better than we encounter in our home country Portugal.

March 2018

Douglas Halliday, USA

Douglas Halliday, USA

Thank you for introducing me to Saurabh Agrawal and the tour operator we used. I had a great time and view the trip as highly successful. I have visited India and Nepal several times. This time I wanted to focus solely on photographing tigers. My expectations were exceeded. There is no doubt that luck plays a part in any wildlife viewing, but equally, if not more important, is designing a trip that will allow good luck to function. Saurabh chose the locations, the accommodations and the people who accompanied us. He acted as my guide. The vehicle used to transport us between locations was roomy, comfortable and spotless. The driver was good, not too fast, not too slow and not reckless. ( Believe me I've had my share of drivers who left me shaken.) I gave Saurabh my accommodation preferences and each of the three I used matched these well. As a guide and travelling companion Saurabh was excellent. He has the experience to select the areas on which to focus, to know signs to be followed, to spot the animals and to position clients well in order to take photographs. Saurabh has a broad knowledge of the world and can participate in any type of discussion. He is kind and considerate and looked after this 73 year old solo traveller well.

February 2018

Garry & Steph, Australia

Garry & Steph, Australia

The entire holiday was an amazing experience that exceeded our expectations. If I had to pick a single most exciting part of the trip, it would be our first observation of a tiger in the wild in Bandhavgarh. Listening to the alarm calls of Sambar deer and movement in the leaf litter before her appearance just metres in front of our vehicle, something i'll never forget.

December 2017

Jim & Jenny Snowden, UK

Jim & Jenny Snowden, UK

It is impossible to compare many of the past holidays we have been fortunate to have been on, but this journey to central India rates 5 stars. It was one of the best. I think we were very lucky to have picked our tour operator to provide the holiday and Saurabh was a wonderful guide and naturalist (and new friend) who added a great deal to our enjoyment. I would recommend this company to anyone without a moments hesitation.

April 2017

John & Marie Nixon, UK

John & Marie Nixon, UK

Hard to mention one thing! We were incredibly fortunate to have had some stunning tiger sightings, but that aside the trip that Saurabh and our tour operator put together was out of this world.

Absolutely 5 star. 10 out of 10. We were completely blown away by everything that was done for us on this trip. We have been lucky to have stayed in the past in some nice hotels etc, however this trip was 100 times better than anything we had done before. They people, the hospitality, the food, the accommodation, the wildlife, it literally was the trip of a lifetime.

April 2017

Paul & Barbara Thomson, UK

Paul & Barbara Thomson, UK

We had a bespoke holiday put together by Chinkara Travel, our request was to see a tiger in the wild. Wow! did they come up with an amazing package which enabled us to see 8 tigers in 10 days. Their organisation and attention to detail was outstanding, we visited 3 different reserves in Central India, well away from the tourist areas so feel as if we have really experienced the natural face of India. Every email we sent was answered promptly which meant we had great confidence in the company and all payments of monies went smoothly. So many little personal touches, too many to list, just made us feel we were being looked after 24/7 and we wanted for nothing. Can't recommend Chinkara Travel enough, thank you so much for giving us a memorable holiday.

January 2017

Shweta Stadler, Switzerland

Shweta Stadler, Switzerland

The operator and Saurabh made the entire trip perfect. It was very well organized and catered to all our needs. Would recommend the operator to anyone who wants to discover India.

December 2016

Patti & Sarah Wallace, UK

Patti & Sarah Wallace, UK

My daughter and I have both seen quite a lot of India before and were looking for something different. This trip was definitely 'the real India', just as it says.  The tour company, Chinkara Journeys is run by a very efficient and personable young man, Saurabh, who has excellent English and a real understanding of what makes a good holiday. Before the trip he was happy to answer any questions and to be flexible about what we did each day.  We ended up doing some walking, some cycling, some visiting local tribal people and some safari which was just the right mix for us.  In addition to organising the trip, he took us on a nature walk - he knows a lot about birds-  and also took us out to dinner locally on our last night.  In fact, I would say he is one of the best and nicest trip organisers/leaders I have ever encountered.  He could not have done more for us and we really enjoyed his company. A highlight was our time at Bhoramdeo staying with Sunny and Sabrina.  They were such welcoming hosts and took us to do so many interesting things in the local area.  In particular visiting people from the two local tribes in their homes and actually camping in the grounds of one family's compound and eating chapatis made with herbs in the home of another, gave us the opportunity to meet people we would otherwise never have met.    

The Kanha Tiger Reserve was also  good experience. We stayed with at Sherger, a really welcoming, luxury tented camp with excellent food.   Again the owner, Jehan, was very friendly and helpful and good company. Perhaps that is what stands out the most about this trip -  the personal nature of it.  It felt more like staying with friends than being tourists.

I would certainly book with Chinkara Journeys again.  When Saurabh says it can be flexible to suit your needs/wants, he really means it. Ask for what you'd like to do and he will find a way to arrange it.  In particular, I wouldn't miss a stay at Bhoramdeo. There are a lot of interesting things to do in that area and you could easily spend 4 or 5 days there.  If you want a trip away from the usual tourist sites, or a rest from being in tourist areas on a longer trip, I would definitely choose this.

December 2016

Jonathan & Anne Roberts, UK

Jonathan & Anne Roberts, UK

First of all thank you very, very much for laying on a such a wonderful tour. Anne and I couldn't have enjoyed ourselves more! Such variety - tribal villages, Indian trains, Reni Pani camping trips, birds, animals, Sanchi, Bhopal, lovely swimming pool at Bhopal etc etc. You sent us home full of joy and love for India.

March 2016

Rona & Stewart Patterson, UK

Rona & Stewart Patterson, UK

We had a brilliant time and would like to reiterate how much we appreciated all the work you put into making it a memorable and adventure packed holiday. It was amazing from the first drive when we saw the first Leopards to the last morning when we saw our last Leopard and the cubs. The additional night drives to try and see anything feeding on the kills to the canoe trip and the night at the Rest House and seeing a Tiger truly in the wild. It was all amazing and will remain in our memories for ever.

Febuary 2016

Click here to see photographs from their trip.

Caroline & David Hooper, UK

Caroline & David Hooper, UK

David and I had an amazing 2 week journey through Central India. We visited 4 wildlife reserves covering 3 states. I took over 6,000 photos!! I’m slowly sortng thorugh them & will be posting some favourites in this album over the next few weeks.
Thank you so much to Saurabh Agrawal, Chinkara Journeys who not only organised our trip, but accompanied us, and even organised a wonderful birthday surprise for me in the Jungle.

January 2016

Tracy Chevalier, Jon & Jacob Drori, UK

Tracy Chevalier, Jon & Jacob Drori, UK

We travelled with Chinkara Journeys for 10 days in central India and had a fantastic time. We've been to India before, but always on our own, which meant we were usually in cities on the tourist trail, and saw the countryside from train windows. This trip was completely different. Our guide Saurabh took us cycling along small roads and tracks, through tiny villages and paddy fields, so that we were truly embedded into the landscape. People were friendly and curious (they were particularly interested in the gears on our bikes!), and we were invited into houses for chai, to eat, and one night we slept at the house of a lovely couple, where Madam showed us how to make garlic pancakes. We also stayed in great camps near nature reserves (comfortable beds, hot showers, excellent food), going on early-morning and evening safaris to see all sorts of animals - including a gorgeous, self-assured tiger. Saurabh surprised us with picnic breakfasts and teas, and a very memorable beer by a lake in the jungle at night, the milky way overhead. All in all, I highly recommend Chinkara Journeys, especially if you are looking to get off the beaten tourist track and experience "real" India.

December 2015

Click here to see photographs from their trip.